Download my thesis – ‘Genetics, Statistics, and Regulation at the National Institute of Agricultural Botany, 1919-1969’

Hello all, this is a short post to announce that I am making my thesis available online. It can be downloaded (entire or by chapter) via the links below.

There are two main groups of people I am hoping will read it. Firstly, current employees of NIAB (who I kept in mind throughout the writing process) and secondly,  historians of plant breeding/agriculture, (who were the main historiographical audiences). As you can see though, I address a number of different subjects, including the First and Second World Wars, randomized control trials, and genetics.

To my first audience – I hope you enjoy it! I have kept NIAB in focus throughout, and while you might not agree with everything you find, or might want to question some of my interpretations, my main hope is that you can get a sense of the history behind the Institute. If you already have a sense of that history, all the more reason for you to read this! Please do send any criticisms, or questions, or comments to me, or indeed write them in reply to this blog post.

To my second audience – I hope you enjoy it! I understand the vast distance between thesis writing and publishable writing, and with luck, I hope most of this will be coming to you in a much more polished format some time soon (i.e. over the next ten to fifteen years). Working on NIAB was a great challenge, and the archival materials really are worthy of greater study than I could achieve all by my lonesome.

If you want to know why each chapter is titled ‘Seed Multiplier’ or something similar, you will need to read the Introduction. Similarly, if you hate having to read over the watermarks, email me! Depending on how well I know you, you just might get a prettier version. No idea if the watermark does anything other than help me sleep at night, but it’s there.

WHOLE THESIS: ‘Genetics, Statistics, and Regulation at the National Institute of Agricultural Botany, 1919-1969’

Introduction

1. Seed Multiplier: The Wartime Founding of NIAB and the OSTS, 1914-1921

2. Field Trialler: Trialling Methods and the Resistible Rise of Randomization, 1921-1931

3. Plant Identifier: The ‘Cereal Synonym Committee’ and the Commercial Life of Genetics, 1930-1937

4. National Institute: Agricultural science in the Second World War, 1939-1955

5. Independent: Reinventing NIAB in the productivist era, 1955-1970

Conclusion

Bibliography

Appendix 1: NIAB Archive Handlist (hosted on NIAB archive website)

Appendix 2: Trial centres that cooperated with NIAB’s county oat trials

 

 

One thought on “Download my thesis – ‘Genetics, Statistics, and Regulation at the National Institute of Agricultural Botany, 1919-1969’

  1. Pingback: Whewell Gazette: Vol. 4 | Whewell's Ghost

Leave a Reply

